2 Awesome Headline Formulas From A Writer With 17,000 Followers

Tom Kuegler
4 min readNov 15, 2022
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

So a writer named E.B. Johnson popped up in my feed the other day.

I decided to take a look at her profile. She’s been writing on Medium since at least 2019 and has over 17,000 followers.

I was really impressed with a lot of her writing and wanted to break down a few of her most-popular headlines ever.

So shout out to E.B. — go give her a follow for me.

Formula 1: Promise The Audience An Answer

Now. I don’t want to say that E.B. wrote these headlines just to get people to click. I think she naturally wrote the following headline in one of the only ways she could. Let’s take a look:

“Signs that you were emotionally neglected or abused as a child.”

I want to preface this by saying that this post is a whopping 17 minutes long. It’s dense and follows through on the promise of the headline. That’s very important.

--

--

Tom Kuegler

Travel blogger. 30 years old. Currently in Mexico. Subscribe to my Substack: https://mindofawriter.substack.com/